• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Need your opinions

I am currently an undergraduate student, and next year I'm applying to graduate schools. There is one aspect of the application process that concerns me. During my time as an undergraduate, I withdrew from 3 courses, for personal reasons. They show up as W on my transcript. I am interested to know how that will affect my chances for admission to top programs, and how is it usually viewed as from the admission committees. I appreciate your opinions. Thank you.

I don't know about your Uni but at mine is doesn't show "withdrawn" unless you have practically almost completed the course. If so then it might be considered on the same level as a repeated course. However, I am not the admission committee so don't quote me on this.

I think the committee can see the withdraw marks on the transcript if they paid attention to it. maybe you can make up for it by taking some quantitative courses like stochastic calculus, machine learning, etc. if possible. without working experience, one uses a perfect gpa, high GRE and other efforts to show his or her qualifications. assume you have 3 months summer intern in a famous bank on your resume, your logic in the ps is more persuading.

hey albo