• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Non-STEM Undergrad Chances

Hi!

I'm a student at the London School of Economics pursuing a BSc in Politics and Economics. I'm interested in applying for MFE (UCB, UCLA, Columbia etc) and MFin programs after my undergrad but I'm extremely worried that my undergrad major will set me back. Does anyone here have any experience getting into top finance programs with a social sciences background? I would appreciate any advice.

Some context -
I'll be going into 2nd year this September
Some relevant modules: microeconomics, macroeconomics, quant methods (mathematics), quant methods (statistics)
In my 2nd year I'll be studying more advanced microeconomics and macroeconomics, along with 2 econometrics modules
Even within politics, we have some quantitative aspects such as voter modelling, regression analysis for voter trends
I have no computer science classes but I will try to take 1 data science and 1 higher math module in my 3rd year
I'm taking Coursera courses in Python, C++ as of now, and I will move on to machine learning next year once my programming skills are a little better
Currently an intern at an asset management firm in India

Are the finance programs mentioned above completely out of reach for an applicant like me? Any thoughts, opinions, words of advice would be very helpful.

Thank you so much!

Is it possible to switch majors to something more math focused?