• TIME TO 2024 UK RANKINGS

• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

NYU M.S.

Hi everyone, Thanks for reading this and helping me out...

I am finishing up my application for the NYU M.S. in mathematics in finance program, and was very excited, until I saw on the wiki that only 75 out of ~900 applicants are admitted.

I would feel alright about my chances, except that I am coming from a major in the biological sciences. I graduated from Notre Dame in May 2008 with a 3.52 for my undergraduate degree, and since then have been taking math, econ, and stats classes at the University of Missouri to improve my background for program's like NYU's. Like I said earlier, I liked where I was at, until I realized how slim the acceptance rate is, and the hoards of maybe more qualified people with pure math/engineering backgrounds who will be applying.

Before I get to my main question, let me just point out my goal of what I would like to do for a career. My idea was to get a Master's that would land me a job somewhere in the financial industry (Goldman, etc.), and then after working for a few years, get an MBA from a top-5 business school and find a job in private equity or venture capital (yes, I know these are few and far between). My idea was to work on financing for startups in molecular biology/biosciences companies to take advantage of my undergrad. degree.