• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Options with PhD in Math

Hi everybody,

I'm about to finish my PhD in Mathematics (fluid dynamics). For a long time I had been aiming at a career in academia but in the end I decided to leave and now, for the first time in my life, I'm looking for a job. My grades are fairly good but I have very little practical experience and my coding skills do not surpass the level of some coding basics courses during my Bachelors study; I have just started to learn Python on my own.

Anyway, so far I have applied to one quant trading job at SIG, I got a quick response, however, I got pretty much crushed in the online assessment. My main problem was the time pressure, the questions were probably not that hard but I didn't even get close to finishing 15 of them within 60 minutes. And I have the feeling this might be a bigger issue for me, I would claim that I have strong analytical skills, I'm good at understanding problems and I'm very precise, but I'm not quick. I'm used to take my time for solving problems, I would say my PhD was much more of a marathon than a sprint, if that makes any sense.