• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Please Advice | Have Non Relevant Work-Exp

Hi,

I am in a great dilemma right now. I have a BTech in IT and MBA Finance (with Thesis on conditional CAPM). But the problem is I have a 2.5 years work experience in Marketing and Consumer (Loyalty) Analytics. I have good knowledge of finance as I have prepared myself well and still preparing before joining MSFE in Fall 2014. I have already got an admit from UIUC and will join the same.
The problem is I am very scared right now. What should I do so as to have a good internship and job opportunity in the quantitative finance? I really don't want to work in the same line as I am doing right and that's why I am going to pursue MSFE. Can you guys please advice what can I do in order to have a relatively strong position for internship and job? I know I'll have compete with guys having experience in the relevant field, but still I need a way.

I really need your advice

Thanks

try to find an internship b4 u start the program