• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Please help a newbie evaluating his profile

Hi Guys,

I am a newbie here and may need your kind help. Could you give your opinion of my chance to get into those top tier MFE programs (UCB, NYU, CMU, UCLA and etc.)? Really appreciate your help.

• BS: Aerospace Eng. with GPA 3.4/4.0 (~top 8%) from a top 10 eng. (no. 1 in Aerospace Eng.) school in China. Classes I took there are pretty much typical "engineering". A design from my final thesis project saved lots of money for a big glass manufacturer.

• MS: Mechanical Eng. with GPA 3.8/4.0 from a top 50 eng. school in USA. All my courses here are related to eng. numerical analysis: CFD, FEM, BEM, MC/MD etc. My thesis was to predict material behaviors by conducting nano-scale Monte Carlo and Molecular Dynamics simulations (two projects). A lot of quantitative analysis and numerical methods are involved.

• Ph.D: Human Computer Interaction (co-majored in Mechanical Eng.) with GPA 3.9/4.0 from the same US school. Work I've done here was about software development with 3D computer graphics, virtual reality etc. My experience here includes a lot of computer programming (mostly C++), algorithms and some numerical analysis.