• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Quant without a STEM degree?

Hey guys, so I'm a finance student at a high target school in the UK with very high grades (first class) and picked the most quantitative classes I could (eg: Financial Econometrics, Derivates, Risk Management, etc.) mostly because I have a really strong passion towards trading, particularly quant trading. I have been self learning Python to a pretty decent level for the last 2-3 years, with emphasis on quant trading skills and platforms.

I was wondering though, is it even possible for me to work at the top quant trading firms? As it stands, I have no idea how to get a Masters in a highly quantitative field as I don't have a bachelors in the same, and surely this puts me way down on the competition list and most of these top-tier firms hire straight out of college for STEM students.

Basically I just wanted a reality check, that despite all the hours of self studying math and programming I do, I'll never really reach the level of someone who has done the degree for 3-4 years and all the relevant experience, so I wanted to know, is there still a path to a quant firm for me? Or I was thinking a backup choice would be Sales and Trading in FICC and Equities of an investment bank or even a hedgefund but not on the quant side.