• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Request for Critical Advice

Hello,

I've been interested in quantitative finance since my sophomore year of college. I graduated from my university (a relative unknown - St.Bonaventure University), with a major in finance and a minor in math. I decided relatively recently that the area that I am most interested in is statistical arbitrage.

After a year of work, I am looking at graduate school but I want to make the right decision for this next step. I have been accepted to the graduate programs in quantitative finance at the University of Buffalo, North Carolina State, among others. I have also put in applications for the mathematics programs at Rochester Institute of Technology and the University of St. Andrews but I haven't heard back about my acceptance.

I reason that at UB, I could load up on courses in the applied math curriculum as electives, and I've heard similar things about NCSU. My current options are these:

1) Go into one of the graduate programs that I have available to me now.
2) Take another half year, year off, score higher on the GRE, take the math subject test for the GRE, apply for admission to math and statistics programs.

I can further elaborate on my background if necessary but I didn't want to lengthen this post more than necessary. I would like straight constructive criticism on my choices for this next step as I know that it is a very important one.

Thank you,