• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Starting Quant Career Advice

R M

Hello, I just joined the forum today. I am a software developer in a proprietary trading firm and want to be a quant. I have a degree in Computer Engineering. I am 39 and out of touch with any math for quite some time. If someone can please suggest what I need to study (starting from the very basics) and how to proceed I would really appreciate it.

Thanks a lot in advance.

Hi,
Are you looking to self-train or get admissions into a Quant Program to be a Quant?

Hello, I just joined the forum today. I am a software developer in a proprietary trading firm and want to be a quant. I have a degree in Computer Engineering. I am 39 and out of touch with any math for quite some time. If someone can please suggest what I need to study (starting from the very basics) and how to proceed I would really appreciate it.

Thanks a lot in advance.

this link may be useful.

https://www.quantnet.com/threads/ma...uants-mfe-financial-engineering-students.535/

The link to the list of books/free guide that Jayanthan posted above is where you should start.
Read books, participate on online quant communities like this one, join an open source project like Quantlib, etc
It will not happen overnight so it will take time navigating around the field and decide where to focus your time and energy.