• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

COMPARE Stevens Institute of Technology vs Stony Brook University

Should I accept SIT's admission offer?

• Total voters
Hello you all,

I am a Spanish 25 year-old guy with 3 years of work experience and currently working as a Private Equity Analyst. I graduated from a top European Business School and I am a true passionate about financial markets. In order to make my Math background apropriate for MFE programs, I recently completed Linear Algebra, Multivariate Calculus I and II and Probability Calculus courses from a Bachelor of Mathematics. My GRE scores: 163Q, 152V, 4 AWA. TOEFL: 106 (March 2017) and Duolingo test (March 2021): 130 (~108 TOEFL).

I will be honest, my dream is living in the US and working as a Trader and moving to a quant hedge fund after some years in a sell-side trading desk. This is why I have decided to apply to some programs in the US as it is basically the only chance I have to reach my dream.

Given my non-strong quant background, my non-competitive GRE scores and the fact that I do not come from a wealthy family, which makes it impossible for me to ask for a 50k student loan, I decided to apply to these two programs because, being realistic, were the ones I could get into and that I could afford.