• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Suggestions on courses

Hi,

I'm trying to figure out what courses to apply to for my masters. I have a BSc i engineering physics and would like to learn more about quantative risk management. I'm interested in statistiks but I'm not sure how much I'll need and if it would be wiser to learn more programing languages or more numerical analysis. The courses I'm thinking about right now are:

Stationary Stochastic Processes
Stochastic processes find applications in a wide variety of fields, and offer a refined and powerful framework to examine and analyze various signals. This course is aimed at introducing the basic theory of stochastic processes, as well as to show how the theory can find applications in a variety of fields.

NUMERICAL LINEAR ALGEBRA
The course is a follow-up to the basic course Linear Algebra. We teach how to solve practical problems using modern numerical methods and computers. Central concepts are convergence, stability, and complexity (how accurate the answer will be and how rapidly it is computed). Other tools include matrix factorization and orthogonalization. Algorithms covered can, among other things, be used to solve very large systems of linear equations that arise when discretizing partial differential equations, and to compute eigenvalues.

ECONOMIC AND FINANCIAL DECISION-MAKING