• View the 2024 QuantNet ranking of the Best UK Quant MSc Programs.

• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

trader vs portfolio manager

Hi, all,

I am new here, and hope to get your guys' help.

I know this could be wrong, but I consider that the main role of both trader and portfolio manager is to analyze the derivatives and handle with price, strategy and risk, etc.

Since I am new to this field and wish to pursue the MFE in the future, I am deadly to know these two types of jobs. What are the essence and differences of these two?

Thank you in advance. And happy new year to you all ^^

If you are a trader and have your own book(s) to manage, you are de facto portfolio manager. Portfolio managers and traders both trade to make a profit for their book/desk/firm.
PM have more managerial duties to tend to such as meeting with clients, risk managers, others. Some traders only have to trade as part of a group.
Differences can be in compensation. It's typical for PM to get salary and a percentage of the P&L while most traders get salary + bonus.

It's very misleading to try to generalize the differences using these titles. It depends on each individual's specifics.

If you are a trader and have your own book(s) to manage, you are de facto portfolio manager. Portfolio managers and traders both trade to make a profit for their book/desk/firm.