• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Undergrad Concentration Electives

I am an undergrad student switching from actuarial science to mathematics. Currently i am taking advanced calculus (up to surface integrals and Stoke's theorem), discrete math, partial differential equations and statistical inference.

The mandatory courses include real analysis, abstract algebra, complex analysis and numerical analysis.

There are 2 numerical analysis classes:

Numerical Methods (More abstract with less use of Matlab or similar packages): Number systems and errors. Solution of nonlinear equations. Interpolation. Systems of linear equations. Approximation. Differentiation and integration. Solution of ordinary differential equations.

Engineering Analysis and Computation I: Solution of sets of linear equations, roots of equations, curve fitting (interpolation), numerical integration and differentiation, numerical solution of ordinary and partial differential equations, boundary value problems and introduction to the finite difference method of computer programs for problem solving. It includes a programming based project.

Any of both courses can fulfill the numerical methods requirement. (since the abstract one is rarely offered.) It seems that the less abstract version can be more beneficial since it includes intensive use of Matlab and it includes numerical solutions to ODEs/PDEs. What do you think?