• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Unique Background Advice

Hello, I am interested in quant finance (specifically quant trading) but I have a non-traditional background and was looking for some advice regarding next-steps. I have an undergrad degree in philosophy with a minor in economics (overall gpa ~3.1) from a top 50 university in the US. After college I played poker professionally for 2.5 years and amassed more than 100k in profit. Unfortunately, this was all in cash games (meaning it is untracked publicly) so there is only my word to take for it. I am confident if someone familiar with poker spoke to me about it in detail they would realize I am a top-level player. I am looking to get into finance, and a buddy of mine that works at a HF pointed me towards QT because of my background in poker.

Currently I am using tradinginterview.com to study mental math and probability/statistics questions. I am also studying Option Volatility and Pricing by Natenberg. I have also completed an intro to python course on codecademy.

I have also messaged several recruiters on linked-in expressing my interest to different firms. Unfortunately, no one has responded to me.

Feel free to be brutally honest, I have thick skin.

We have plenty of poker players around here. In fact, many of us were members on 2plus2 back in the days.
If you have an analytical mindset, there is no question that you can be successful in this line of work.