• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

What's in between a technologist and a quant?

Hello,

I am a software engineer with 10 years of experience, worked at FAANG before and recently moved to a front-office tech team of a top investment bank.
Currently I'm thinking about the next steps in my career. I definitely want to keep working in finance sector, as I love the culture here much more than at purely tech companies; however I'd love to get closer to the business to make bigger impact on the firm's performance (and hopefully get a better reward).

I thought one of the options would be becoming a quant - however I'd still want to leverage all my prior tech experience and not spend days and nights just crunching numbers. I see my ideal job as solving technically challenging problems as well as doing a fair amount of quantitative work. Is that possible or banks make a clear distinction between quants and technologists?

If that's doable - the next question is what I need to learn to get such job. I think doing an MFE would be an overkill - should I just rely on self study? I have a degree in engineering, however I didn't read some advanced quant topics such as stochastic calculus at my school.

Thanks in advance.