• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Worthwhile to have part-time MFE degree?

Hi all, nice to have such an amazing forum!
I'm currently financial software engineer at Bloomberg, and I've already have computer science master degree. And before that I have a couple years of research experiences (not math/CS/stat/finance field, though).
Thus in addition to coding skills, I also have research/analytics mindset and huge passion for math/stat. Also given my experiences at Bloomberg where I could access lots of financial resources, naturally I'm considering to take part-time MFE degree. (Also the company will pay a good amount of tuition for me as employee benefit)

However, right now I may not have a very clear career goal as most other MFE students (say, mostly want to be quant, but quant is also one of my top options), my whole purpose now is still to "dive deep" into financial industry because domain knowledge is super important if I choose to continue to develop at fintech.

So given my situation, a couple of questions:
1. If I only wanna "dive deep" into finance, or invest/prepare for my future career in financial industry, but without a crystal clear goal, would "part-time MFE" be a little bit "over"? I need to invest a huge amount of time.

2. I heard top financial institutions (funds like Citadel) would only hire math/physics PhD as their quant, is that true?