• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Worthwhile: UChicago MSFM after UChicago undergrad?

I am thinking about applying (although acceptance requires commitment, hence this question) to UChicago's 4+1 program, which allows me to complete the MSFM in an additional year with a $25,000 scholarship. However, I'm not sure if it's worth it: my goal is to work at a "top" quant trading firm.

I am a sophomore @ UChicago majoring in molecular engineering + physics, so I will have a pretty strong mathematical background, and the benefits of an undergraduate target school. Moreover, I'm taking a number of graduate classes (at an extent that seems unparalleled among other undergrads), which may hopefully stand out. I'm also doing research, but it's too early to tell whether anything extraordinary in the eyes of quant firms will come of it.

Currently at a 3.8 GPA (hopefully/probably 3.8+ in some time), but the engineering school here also practices intense deflation, and that's relative even to UChicago as a whole. Maybe that'll count for something. I'm also in the Derivatives Group Quant Trading org here.