• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Abstract Linear Algebra vs Real Analysis

Hey guys, I wanted some advice on which theory class I should take. I am an undergraduate Economics major with a minor in mathematics. My math coursework has been calc 1,2,3, statistics, linear algebra, ordinary differential equations, applications of linear algebra, and probability theory. I have also taken econometrics 1,2, and advanced econometrics.

For next semester I am currently registered for partial differential equations and a theoretical linear algebra course. I am debating whether I should substitute the theoretical linear algebra course with real analysis. I did not want to take real analysis alongside PDE because it seemed like a big load along with my undergraduate thesis and other econ courses. However, it seems this may help me in the long run. My goal is to get into a good financial engineering or math finance program maybe after 2-3 years of work. The thought of a masters in economics or PhD in economics crossed my mind as well. For this I figured my work experience should be research related and the real analysis would help. Any thoughts/ ideas? Does a course that proves theorems from linear algebra help in applying to math finance programs, or will real analysis be more impressive. Thanks in advance for the responses.

-Juan