• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

COMPARE Columbia MSOR vs. ETH UZH QFin

Hello everyone,

I'm an international undergrad majoring in EE.I will get my bachelors this June and I have admits from columbia msor (redirected from msfe) and eth uzh qfin. Having gone through literally the whole forum, I'm still having a very tough time choosing between the two.
for me pros/cons of each are:
columbia msor
pros
• location(NYC - financial capital of north america)
• great job placement stats
• brand name of the school
• flexible curriculum (I've been involved with machine learning in ugrad)
cons
huge class size, competing with msfe and mfin and possibly columbia math, phys
ugrads
• much more expensive compared to eth uzh qfin
• no masters thesis which would be nice if I choose to do an OR phd

ETH UZH
pros
• location (zurich- financial capital+beautiful city to live in)
• eth math department is famous for mathematical finance and uzh's banking and econ department is solid as well(?)
• masters thesis - great first step towards PhD
• although cost of living in zurich is extremely high overall budget is nearly half of columbia msor
cons
• I don't speak German or French or Italian which is usually a strict requirement for jobs in switzerland, germany, france etc.
• Program is not that well known by employers(?)