• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Does accounting background students get a chance to be admitted into MFE programs?

I just checked my application status of Baruch MFE program. It says: As of December 15th, the latest status we have on file of your application to the Baruch MFE Program for Fall 2011 is Denied.

I'm currently a senior student and my major is accounting. Does that mean I won't even be considered? I really love mathematics and programming and certainly want a career in quant finance. Just a little bit annoyed.

Well, baruch mfe is quite competitive as you can see from their entrance numbers. If your courses don't show a strong quantitative background it will be hard to differentiate you from the rest of the applications who have significant quantitative backgrounds(Engineers,mathematicians,physicists). Don't let this rejection affect you. There are several programs out there. Stay positive!

I just checked my application status of Baruch MFE program. It says: As of December 15th, the latest status we have on file of your application to the Baruch MFE Program for Fall 2011 is Denied.

I'm currently a senior student and my major is accounting. Does that mean I won't even be considered? I really love mathematics and programming and certainly want a career in quant finance. Just a little bit annoyed.
hey,

Have you taken any math, programming, finance or economics courses ?