• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

From PhD in mathematical physics to Quant?

Dear all,

I will get a PhD in mathematical physics in France in about one year (more precisely, conformal field theory and its relations to pure mathematics). Prior to my PhD, I studied theoretical physics in a top 3 school in France. Today, I feel like I need new (and concrete) challenges, and working as a quant in an investment bank sounds challenging and exciting to me. I read several stories from PhD people in statistics or experimental particle physics who got a quant job, but my case is different. I will try to list some good and bad points about me.

(Huge) Bad points: Right now, I do not have most of the tools required for a quant. I didn't do any proba/stats/stochastic processes during my PhD. I also didn't do any programming (I use Mathematica every day for computations, though). Before my PhD, I did some projects using C++/Python, and I did an undergrad internship in particle physics doing data analysis at the LHC. I still have some basic notions, but I forgot a lot of stuff.

(Subjective) Good points:

I'm quite confident about the other maths (linear algebra, analysis, etc). I am not afraid about working a lot to progress on the other domains, and I think I can learn quickly. I also teached maths and physics during the PhD, which gave me some communication skills. I don't really care about where will I work in the future.

Questions: