• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Help needed! Law convert

Hey guys,

I am in dire need of some help. I am a law graduate, educated to a masters level. My LLM was from a top 3 school in the UK and my undergraduate degree was from a top 25 school in the UK. I am British and am seeking a change from Law. I am interested in pursuing a MSF, MSFE or QMSS from an Ivy League School. I had a few questions:

1) What is the likelihood of me being accepted to one of those schools with a solid background in Mathematics?

2) How long does it take to prepare for the GRE?

3) Would law be considered a odd background to come in from? I should mention my GPA was 3.7

4) I want to secure a job as an investment banker/ analyst. If not an Ivy League school, what other programs should I consider?

5) Overall, am I wasting my time considering this with my background?

Thanks a ton

why do you want to change? Why are you so bent on going to an "Ivy League School"?

why do you want to change? Why are you so bent on going to an "Ivy League School"?

I want to change because having worked for 6 months at this law firm, its not for me. A little late to realise this, but the law is not for me.

I'm not bent on going to an Ivy League School. Although, it clearly holds more value with employers, that is why I asked alternative programs I should consider when applying that are not Ivy League Schools.