• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

How much data engineering do QRs do?

Hi there,

I am an applied math PhD student studying theoretial ML. It is theoretical because we mainly work with various computational models and assume various things about data(distributions, sample sizes, flows etc).

Anyway, I am now interested in getting into quant, but I find myself unprepared for the "engineering" parts of quant. Specifically, coding and data engineering.

Coding: I am familiar with standard ML frameworks(Pytorch etc), so I can implement basic things in Python. I am also familiar with the basics of algorithms and data structures at the undergrad level. But I know nothing about C++ and have very little experience in using computer programs to automate mundane tasks.

Data engineering: I took an intro course at the MMF program at my institution, and did some quant trading on my own. I might be wrong, but I find that, just as in "practical" ML, data engineering is very important. By data engineering, I mean things like "what kind of data to look at", "how to collect large amount of data", "how to structure the collected data".