• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

International student seeking advice

Hey..im currently a student in actuarial science in Montreal...i want to follow this with a masters of finance or financial engineering in the USA in a top school...I have always wanted to be a trader and getting into the business is really difficult coming from Montreal and basically Canada because our schools here do not have the same brandname quality as american schools...that being does anyone have any recommendation on how to go on with my objective??? any tips would be helpful..

I have pretty good knowledge of statistics, probability and I am on track to complete 4 of the exams of the society of actuaries by the end of my undergraduate degree and they cover probability, financial mathematics and derivatives....I also am an avid financial market follower (more like student)...i have been trading my personal money (not much) on the side for a year

Let's get some realistic expectation: you are not likely to become a trader right after MFE degree. It will take the right personality, talent, place, time for it to happen.
If you are a skilled trader, your personal trading will speak for itself. No program will teach you to be a trader.

Now, what are skills that you can say you are the best at or better than your peers?

I have always wanted to be a trader