• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Internship and full time job - protocols?

Hi,
I'm a masters student in NYC about to graduate in December. I had the good fortune of interning with an algorithmic trading hedge fund during the summer (can't share super specifics here, sorry!). It was very hard work, but overall a great experience, and I learnt a lot. As a result, it now looks likely that I will get an offer from here in the next week or so.

Since I am an international student and this would be my first job in the US (though I have prior work experience in finance), I was wondering if I could get some qualified perspective on how to handle this situation. What are the things I should consider? What is a typical base salary for an entry level position? Are expected bonuses/growth prospects more important? I am in touch with some headhunters in NYC who mail time to time about job openings - is it considered unethical to accept a position and then turn it down for a better offer? How is the job market (+ visa bottleneck) overall for algorithmic/high frequency trading? I really like my current firm, just wondering what people usually do in this situation.

Thanks!

For proper protocol on accept/reject offer, you should ask Ellen Reeves in this topic. She is an expert in this aspect.
As for the base salary, interestingly enough, I'm building a prototype of the Salary database similar to the Tracker.