• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

PhD in Mathematics?

I have just obtained my MS in FE this past May.
I have no prior working experience in Finance.
My next plan is to prepare for the CFA Level I exam in December and search for a job to get some real experience. The job market has been tough for me. Most of the jobs require more years of experience or/and higher education (PhD or some certificate designation).
What can I do to get my foot in the door? I am looking to eventually get a job as a quant. So I thought that maybe a PhD in Mathematics would be a good idea. I have also thought the possibilities of a PhD in Finance possibly from Baruch College. Would that be sufficient for a quant job(since it didn't really say a PhD in Quantitative Finance)? I have also thought about taking the FRM since it's more quantitative than the CFA.
Should more education be the next step for me to get closer to a job as a quant?
I know that a PhD would take a minimum of 4 years to complete on average.
I know that most of the PhD programs require their students to be full-time, which means possibly no time for an actual full-time job.
And then I'd come back to the same problem where I'd have no actual working experience in the field.
What would be a good balance? Try to work for a few years and then get my PhD?