Question about Real Analysis & Functional Analysis

I am an undergraduate student, and I decide to learn real analysis and functional analysis this term.
And I wanna apply for MFE in the future. However, I have no idea about the application of these two subjects in the field of Financial Engineer. I do hope that I could find the answer in QuantNet !!!
THX!!!

IMO
In general, you won't need Functional Analysis directly but it is well worth learning. Go for it.
Real Analysis is essential I would say.

Even more important is Numerical Analysis.

Last edited:
IMO
In general, you won't need Functional Analysis directly but it is well worth learning. Go for it.
Real Analysis is essential I would say.

Even more important is Numerical Analysis.
THANK YOU VERY MUCH! I'll try to read some books about Numerical Analysis. By the way, could you please recommend some textbooks for me? some elementary.

Last edited:
Don't worry! In fact, I don't think Real Analysis will be very essential since most of the functions in engineering are Riemann Integrable. But the greatest influence of Real Analysis on MFE would be that the Lebesgue Measure Theory may give you deeper understanding on the probability space, which I think will be very important in dealing with financial problems.

Don't worry! In fact, I don't think Real Analysis will be very essential since most of the functions in engineering are Riemann Integrable. But the greatest influence of Real Analysis on MFE would be that the Lebesgue Measure Theory may give you deeper understanding on the probability space, which I think will be very important in dealing with financial problems.

That's a good question? How useful is measure theory? How many traders/quants 'use' it?