• TIME TO 2024 UK RANKINGS

• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Questions from an International Perspective

Hi,

First post on QuantNet: Introduction and some brief questions.
My background is as follows:
Education:
BEng - Computer Engineering, Ireland. GPA: 3.8
PhD (Nov '09) : Bioengineering - signal analysis, machine learning algorithms
2 years of PhD spent in Ireland. Last year spent at Harvard Med.
Work Experience: One year, undergrad internship - Analog Devices - Research Engineer

Financial experience:
Weak: one elective course during undergrad. Registered to take the CFA level 1 in December.

I'm in the process of compiling my application and would greatly appreciate feedback on the following questions:
What impact will the recent changes on H1B visas have on International students over the next year or so?
Considering the post "[FONT=&quot]The State of Financial Engineering" [/FONT]by Sylvain Raynes are people generally pessimistic about the future of quant roles?

More personal question:
How will this lack of financial experience influence my chances?

I appreciate that these questions are generic and have been addressed to some extent in previous posts - however I am hoping to start a fresh debate on some topics.

Regards,
Anthony

What impact will the recent changes on H1B visas have on International students over the next year or so?