• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

S&T vs Portfolio Management

Hi,

I'm still a newbie to QuantNet, so please dont castigate me if this question has been asked before.. I did run some searches, but did not find an answer to my questions...

1. Is "Sales & Trading" part of the buy side or sell side ? (In my opinion, sales == sell side, but trading = sell side + buy side)

2. For someone starting as a trader in the S&T division (of a sell side or buy side firm), is it possible to move into a portfolio manager position over time ?

3. What skills are required for trading, and what skills for portfolio management ?

4. Since we generally say "sales & trading" together, instead of "sales" and "trading", does it mean that a single person performs both tasks (sales + trading) ? In other words, can I say that "I want to work as a Trader", or would I need to say "I want to work in Sales & Trading" ?

I am fairly certain these questions have been answered before, so if anyone could answer them here or provide relevant links, i would be VERY grateful. Thanks for your time !

1. S&T is a standard acronym for sell-side guys, i.e. guys from investment bank (financial services firm). Sales and trader work in one team (and share one bonus pool). Salesperson brings business, trader gives prices, makes deal and manages risk.

2. Yes, but what for? Portfolio management is something different to trading.