• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Sales

Hi!
First, let me give you a bit of background: I am a math student, and I am interested in finance. In spite of having a heavy STEM background, I'm pretty decent with people and I'm a strong communicator. I am working hard to get better programming and am reading a lot about finance and economics. I think a job as a salesman would suit me.

1. What is Best Sales Job In Finance?
2. Is a job in sales a bit of a mix between communication skills, math and finance?
3. Is the job intellectually stimulating?
4. Is it stressful?
5. Is a career in Sales better than a quant career?
6. What would the alternatives be? Enterprise Sales?
7. Why did you choose Sales over Quant?

Last edited:
In spite of having a heavy STEM background, I'm pretty decent with people and I'm a strong communicator

That's a cliché.
The two are uncorrelated IMO. Richard Feynman and John von Neumann.

Last edited:
In spite of having a heavy STEM background, I'm pretty decent with people and I'm a strong communicator

That's a cliché.
The two are uncorrelated IMO. Richard Feynman and John von Neumann.

So, do you think S&T Sales is not a good long-term-career? What would the alternatives be? Enterprise Sales, Quant...?

So, do you think S&T Sales is not a good long-term-career? What would the alternatives be? Enterprise Sales, Quant...?