• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Singapore engineering grad's career switch to quant

Dear all,

I am a Chemical Engineering grad with a few years of research and entrepreneurial experience from Singapore and is 30. I am considering a career switch to finance. I suppose the best route I can take would be through a Masters of Financial Engineering degree.

I am considering the MFE from NTU and then getting a quantitative analyst, risk management or trading job or maybe a commodity trading job in an energy company in Singapore.

I am willing to start with an entry level salary (taking a pay cut if necessary). But I would like to know after working in quantitative or risk management area for 10 years in Singapore, what kind of salary would I be able to expect in the worst-case scenario, assuming that I am not a high-flier and is just an average performer and is not employed in the best-paid departments of the financial institution? Will I be able to to at least earn 8K-10K Singapore dollars per month?

The reason why I am asking this is I have to make a career choice out of my few passions and financial considerations is one of the important factors that I have to weigh.

Hope to get some views and advice soon! Thank you!