• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Too late to switch focus to FE?

Hey everyone,

I'm currently a sophomore (will be a junior next fall), and am trying to make some decisions in regard to what career I want to push for. I am a CS and Statistics major with a 3.5 GPA, no finance experience (only knowledge- I've taken a bunch of online courses in my spare time). Previously, I was planning for a career as a software engineer, but have been very interested in working in finance and applying to an MFE. Is it too late to pivot?

My GPA isn't great because I never placed that much emphasis on it- I focused more on my programming skills in Python, C++, and Java. Also, not having any finance experience concerns me. Finding an internship in Finance for my junior year would be pretty difficult without any previous experience, I assume. I plan on taking QuantNet's C++ for FE to learn more about the subject as a whole and because I am interested. I would love to hear any opinions about If it's too late to switch my focus to Finance and really start worrying about my GPA so that I can gain admission to a MFE program in the future.

If it's not too late, what steps would you take to catch up with someone who has known they want to attend an MFE?

Thanks!