• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

What chances nowadays to get into Quant Developer roles with a PhD in Computational Mech. Eng.

Hello all,

I would like to get advice from people inside the world of Quantitative Finance about what chances are there nowadays of getting in as a Quant Developer without much knowledge of Financial Mathematics.

I hold a PhD in Computational Mechanics from a mid-upper tie University here in the UK (Russell Group), so I have experience in numerical methods (finite differences, finite elements, more exotic numerical methods, numeric codes for solving PDEs), and coding numerical algorithms in the object-oriented paradigm, C++98 mainly, and in the procedural one, Matlab and Fortran.
My background is in Mechanical Engineering, and I am by now in my thirties.

Since I got my PhD and cut my further ties with the University this past June, I set out to fill my knowledge gaps eyeing for a role in Quantitative Finance.
I feel my weak spots are mainly in the field of Probability&Statistics (building a base towards Machine Learning eventually), Software Design and Patterns (never read gang of four C++ book) and obviously Financial Engineering itself.