• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Applied Math (Computational Science Emphasis vs Statistics Emphasis) for undergrad.

I am a freshman majoring in applied math at texas a&m for my undergrad, trying to decide which path within my major would be the best option, Computational Science Emphasis / Statistics Emphasis / math emphasis or just a pure math major.

The curriculi is linked here, the foundational coursework is the same, but the comp sci. emphasis has upper level cs classes and the statistics one has stats classes, and math one has math respectively

Computational : Data Structures and Algorithms, Programming Languages, Design and Analysis of Algorithms, Formal Languages and Automata.

Stats: Statistical Computing, Introduction to Linear Models, Operations Research I or Operations Research II, Mathematical Probability or Mathematical Statistics I

math emphasis:
Advanced Calculus II or Principles of Analysis I,
Modern Algebra I or Applied Algebra,
Operations Research I / Operations Research II / The Mathematics of Interest
(select 2)Theory of Partial Differential Equations ,Fourier Series and Wavelets ,Probability and Computing ,Mathematical Modeling

Appreciate any input.

Last edited: