• Visit the 2024 QuantNet ranking of the Best UK Quant MSc Programs.

• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

COMPARE CMU MSCF (NYC) v/s Berkeley MFE v/s CMU PhD Math Finance

Hi All,

I have been admitted to a few MFE programs, but am trying to decide b/w --

1. CMU MSCF - New York Campus
2. Berkeley MFE
3. CMU Phd - Mathematical Finance

Given that I am relatively new to finance, I'm not sure enough to commit for a PhD, so I am mainly focussing on the 2 MFE admissions I have (CMU & Berkeley), unless there is a STRONG argument in favor of the PhD.

- Senior at top ivy league, majoring in math & CS.
- Interned at Goldman Sachs in a technology group, which got me interested in finance.
- Taken some finance courses, but not yet sure what specific area of finance I'd like to work in.
- From what I understand so far, S&T would limit my options in the future - I could either continue in S&T in an Investment Bank, or I could become a trader at a Hedge Fund. As a result, I'm not too keen on S&T. Instead, I would like to pursue careers within finance which would keep my options open for the future.

Any suggestions would be extremely useful in helping me decide.

Thanks for your time in reading this article :) (and thank you QuantNet for everything)

From what i understand, PhD is a huge commitment. I'd suggest against it if you're not completely certain of it being the best choice.