From F1 to financial engineering?

Hello everybody,

I'm an Aerospace Engineer, mid-30s, living in Germany and I would like to get from you some advices about my plan to switch from the Computation Fluid Dynamics to the Financial Engineering. I have been working for about 10 yrs with CFD, dealing with heat transfer, aerodynamics and turbulence modelling and I spent most of them in F1, which was really great.

I'm not in the condition to quit my current (and good paid) job to attend a full time course in a University, but I have enough hunger and discipline to study a lot, also independently, and to allocate a relevant amount of free time to it.

What would you do to step into this world? Investing 50K USD (at least) and enrolling for further education, likely with part time or distance learning formulas? Looking for an entry level job, just to learn by doing?

Thanks for your help.

Best regards.

Lorenzo

I would say that you start with books on this list http://www.quantnet.com/forum/threa...uants-mfe-financial-engineering-students.535/
Picking a few books in the order presented and in any section of your interest. It seems like a very economical way to explore more about this field while keeping your job. Once you have a better sense on how to navigate this new world, you can decide better if a full-time program is the right choice.
As you said, a good paying job is not easy to find. It's too early at at this stage of your career to jump.

I agree with Andy. Far too early to make the jump.

Why do you want to change to financial engineering exactly?

I am in a situation similar to Lorenzo, mid-30s, working in a quantitative field (machine learning and bioinformatics, mainly using R and Matlab to do statistical analysis). I have been thinking about changing to quant for a long time, and finished half of John C. Hull book. And I also need to pick up C++, which I used a long time ago.