• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Moving from Pure Math PhD to Quant Researcher advice

• Thread starter Thread starter NoPro
  • Start date Start date
Hi all,

I'm a 26 year old from the UK but not a US permanent resident, I am a grad student, currently studying in the US, beginning my second year in a top 25 Math grad school (usnews ranking). I have just passed my qualifying exams and so will have earned my second masters in Math, I delayed by about 2 years after graduation during covid and didn't want to go straight into industry so I did a masters and applied for PhD as I believed that to be the direction to find my dream job giving satisfaction, excitement and mental challenge. I earned a 2:1 BA in Math from an oxbridge school, my undergrad courses were mainly pure math and theoretical physics centralized, the few stats courses were intro to probability courses, random variables, measures etc and a course on stochastic processes and random walks. I have no real background in coding, though my friends currently in industry think I should be able to pick it up quick, that I just need to work on python, c++ etc.