• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Software Engineer vs Computer Engineer

Hello,

I'm an engineering student at a Canadian university studying software engineering. The program requirements are the same as that for a computer engineering major until my final year when I do a software project and extra cs & se courses.

I see my self doing some form of computational engineering/ quantitative modeling/developing (generic, economic/financial/credit, geological, biological etc) in the future and most likely not generic development (web & random applications). What do you guys think is a better program ("title")? The course requirements are very similar depending on electives so the main difference is pretty much the title. Does software engineering sound like a pigeonhole major? over specialization too early? "jack of all"?

I already get so many surprised reactions from other students when they find out I'm a "software engineering" major in their hardware classes. Would it be easier to transition to a quantitative career that's math intensive with "software engineering" vs Computer engineering?

Thank you